How to ask brides/clients to be patient?

Discussion in 'Photographers' started by haring, Jun 10, 2014.

1. haring

haring Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I am a wedding photographer. Brides always want me to select single photos and send to them before delivery date. I am not really talking about thank you card but other photos with family remembers.
    I would love to do it for them and send them but the only problem that it really messes up my workflow. I allocate equal time for everybody's wedding. It is hard to pull the drives, go through the wedding photos, selecting them and editing them before final delivery while I am still editing somebody else's wedding. It takes a long time and this way I feel that I will never be able to meet my deadlines.

The best example is father's day. Everybody wants to have a photo with their father...

How do you do it? Are sending clients/brides photos after their wedding before the delivery date or you ask them to wait for the final product? If you ask them how do you ask them to be patient?

2. vdonovan

vdonovan Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Since this *always* happens, change your workflow. Allocate some time after each event to find two or three promising shots and email them (low res, of course) to the client with a note like "Congratulations! Your wedding was beautiful and I think I got some great shots. Here's a teaser, a few I thought you might like. I'm looking forward to showing you the full portfolio when we meet on XX-XX-XXXX."

3. Jaf-Photo

Jaf-Photo Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Yeah, the client is always right. This is all about their big day.

You could probably standardise it to save time. Try to shoot some designated preview shots in much the same way on each wedding and set up some good presets for editing. Then it should be fast and easy enough.

4. pbromaghin

pbromaghin Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format