HOW TO SELECT FILM/CAMERA FOR THIS AESTHETIC?

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by court2407, Mar 14, 2011.

1. court2407

court2407 Member

Shooter:
    Plastic Cameras
    Dear APUGS,

I am posting this article as I need assistance in selecting a film/camera for a particular aesthetic. I am a third year student at a professional photographic college. I have extensively used digital slr's, 5"4 cameras, studios and have a collection of plastic cameras and old polaroid cameras.

I also have extensive experience in photoshop. The thing is, I am drawn to the raw aesthetic of film and havent had to much of an education in this realm of photography. Unfortunately, my college asserts that digital is the way of the future, therefore doesn't educate us about film. Some of my favourite photographers are Todd Hido, Stephen Shore, William Eggleston and Dash snow.

I am looking for find a film with a similar aesthetic to the colours of polaroid 600 film. I love the subdued warm colours and retro 70's vibe it has.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Please refer to these images.

Can anyone please recommend a film with a similar colour pallette to these images? Are these colours in the film, or to do with the processing? So far none of my teachers have been much help.

Courtney

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2011
  2. rawhead

rawhead Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  3. Paul Green

Paul Green Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I second rawhead's suggestion, also consider over exposing it.

4. SuzanneR

SuzanneR Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've moved this post to the color film forum, as it's not an article, but a question about film. Also, it's not entirely appropriate to post pictures that are copyrighted to others... a link to the examples would be better.

5. Greg Davis

Greg Davis Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format