I can't make the M work for me

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by jerrybro, Aug 27, 2012.

1. jerrybro

jerrybro Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    A while back I came into a dream system. M4, 21 3.4SA, 35 1.4 Lux, 50 Cron Rigid. All in beautiful condition and well cared for by it's only other owner. I've run about a dozen or so rolls through the kit but never saw the quality results I expected. On my last roll I decided to put the M on a tripod and saw what people have raved about, especially with the 50mm. There is nothing wrong with the hardware, I just can't make it work in my hands.

Now I'm not new at this, I've been shooting for over 40 years and have some nice stuff in 35, 120 and 4x5. I can handhold my other 35s and my Rollei and Blad with no issue. I think the M is just too small for me, I can't actuate the shutter without moving the whole camera. I've tried a soft shutter and it was a little better, but still not reliable.

As much as I love the hardware for it's mechanical qualities, at current prices I think I may just let it all go and add to my other kits. Or maybe keep the 50 and look for a M compatible body that fits me better. Has anyone else run into this?

2. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I get along with certain cameras too. No shame in moving on.

3. Paul Goutiere

Paul Goutiere Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yes, I'm going through this now.

I've had my M2 since 1980 and my M4-P since 1986. These cameras worked for me one once but now they don't seem to. I took them on a trip to Cuba in January and
    took some of the worst crap I've ever done (this is saying something). I seem to do better with an SLR, like my F3hp or old F2.

Times change, we change too, I guess.

I'm happier with my beat up old Rolleiflex K4B or my Hasselblad stuff.

4. Oren Grad

Oren Grad Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format