I loathe spotting prints.

Discussion in 'Presentation & Marketing' started by f/stopblues, Feb 8, 2012.

1. f/stopblues

f/stopblues Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It seems inevitable no matter how careful I am about dust.. there's always a reason to have to get the itty bitty brush and ink out. In fact, I'm taking a break from doing it to a 20x20" print right now. I hate it. I'm not good at it. There's a particularly large white blob that I wish I could take a sharpie to. The frame is sitting eagerly to the side, just waiting to be complete. I'm feeling some pressure because I need to mail it out by Friday. Sigh.

I'm just ranting.. nothing to see here. Carry on :smile:

2. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Condenser head?

3. f/stopblues

f/stopblues Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yeah..

I have a 45V-XL just waiting for a light source so I can put it in the darkroom. Definitely staying away from a condenser.

4. PKM-25

PKM-25 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not doing so bad with dust at the moment, cold light head. But I am going to hire out my spotting, especially when I get higher volume going.

5. jordanstarr

jordanstarr Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I learned from one of the best. It's definitely an art within itself to emulate the grain structure with the proper density. A lot of factors have to be considered such as the brush, ink, dilution, paper base tint, etc. I found myself oddly enjoying spotting and thus, became very good at it and spent many hours doing it. It's one of the few things in photography I know I can do very well :laugh:...not trying to rub it in or anything.

6. Roger Cole

Roger Cole Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format