I Need Help! (Darkroom Setup/Layout)

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by tryals15, May 25, 2012.

1. tryals15

tryals15 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm new to the darkroom (i.e. when I develop my next roll it will be my first... :D)

I'm a teacher, and I plan to learn and practice developing film over the summer. I have an oportunity to install a darkroom at the school I work at or next year for use by the photography club (I'm the sponsor).

The room(s) we will be getting will be laid out like the diagram below. My plan is to install a darkroom in the smaller room and put a studio in the larger, longer room. There is no running water to either room, and having it installed is not an option. There is, however, running water outside of the entrance to the smaller room.

We had a Dichro 67 enlarger donated to our club this semester, along with a few trays and odds and ends. We will need to purchase everything else on the smallest budget possible. (We can buy what we need, we just can't go nuts...)

I would really appreciate any help ya'll can provide in where to put benches, what to install where, etc.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

** I should add, we will most likely be doing 35mm only, although given that I shoot MF, we may venture in that direction as well.

Attached Files:

2. ROL

ROL Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. Rick A

Rick A Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Bummer dude, you have to access the studio through the DR. Hmm..... I recon you could use a couple of tables or sturdy shelves in the DR along the length of the longer walls for enlargers and trays. You can use a large tub to give a quick rinse for prints, and wash them elsewhere. Changing bags to load daylight tanks for processing film. If you want to pay postage I have a Vivitar enlarger for you.

4. Old-N-Feeble

Old-N-Feeble Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format