If you have Nikon F100, what frame number does it start?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by tkamiya, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. tkamiya

    tkamiya Member

    Messages:
    4,252
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Central Flor
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I just acquired a used F100. If you have one, will you please tell me what frame # on negative images start?

    Mine starts on first frame straddling 0 and 0A and ends with 24 and 24A being the last shot. That makes total of 25 shorts for 24 exp film.

    Not that I am complaining of getting an extra frame, is this normal for this camera?
     
  2. njkphoto

    njkphoto Member

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Pa
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I used to have an F100 but honestly I don't recall. I will try and and look at some old negs I have that I shot with the camera and try to get back to you. I don't think this is something you have to worry about IMHO.
     
  3. Sirius Glass

    Sirius Glass Subscriber

    Messages:
    20,646
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Where it starts depends on how much leader is used before I close the back.

    I get 36 exposures on a 36 exposure roll.

    Steve
     
  4. ath

    ath Member

    Messages:
    889
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    Shooter:
    35mm
    This depends on the film too. My Canon EOS' start with films from nearly every filmmaker on frame 1 except some Rolleis from Maco; here they start at frame 0 because the frame numbers are aligned different.
     
  5. Sirius Glass

    Sirius Glass Subscriber

    Messages:
    20,646
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I had not noticed that because I use Kodak film almost exclusively.
     
  6. tkamiya

    tkamiya Member

    Messages:
    4,252
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Central Flor
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks for replies, but I'm interested in hearing from folks who own F100, please. This body is a type where you position the leader at a mark and close the back. It's automatic.
     
  7. tkamiya

    tkamiya Member

    Messages:
    4,252
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Central Flor
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I wasn't aware the length of leaders and position of the numbers aren't standardized.... Thank you for pointing that out. I'm using Tmax400-2 24 exposure rolls..
     
  8. eddym

    eddym Member

    Messages:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    With HP5+ my F100 starts on frame 0a and ends on 36a, giving me 37 frames.
     
  9. Pinholemaster

    Pinholemaster Member

    Messages:
    1,504
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    Westminster,
    Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I own three F100 bodies. What you are experiencing doesn't surprise me. I regularly get an extra frame on my 36 exp rolls. Wouldn't worry about it. Celebrate the added frame.
     
  10. Chan Tran

    Chan Tran Member

    Messages:
    2,386
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter:
    35mm
    it also depends on which film you use
     
  11. tkamiya

    tkamiya Member

    Messages:
    4,252
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Central Flor
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thank you everybody. I'll sleep well tonight knowing my F100 is functioning as it should.
     
  12. picker77

    picker77 Subscriber

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Oklahoma, US
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'll chime in with a late me-too. I sometimes get 37 instead of 36 with my F100, seems to depend on the brand of film I'm using. As I recall, Fuji print was one of them with the extra frame. No big deal. GREAT camera, by the way! I love being able to swap back and forth between it and my D200 without losing the familiar feel and with all the important controls being in more or less the same spot. It's also nice to be able to mix and match many lenses between the two--lots of versatility.
     
  13. tkamiya

    tkamiya Member

    Messages:
    4,252
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Central Flor
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks. I just went through my second roll of film in F100. It is working well and I seem to get +1 frame with Tmax films. I also have D200. Yes, it is really nice to instantly know where everything is.... only problem is, most of my lenses are DX only. Oh well.
     
  14. LyleB

    LyleB Member

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Lower Michig
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I also got a F100 recently to update from my FM2. Decided the autofocus would help my older eyes out some. Love that so many of the controls are so similar to my D90 also. Great camera, looking forward to getting some great slides again, prints just aren't the same.
     
  15. Leighgion

    Leighgion Member

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Orcas Island
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Totally down to what film you're loading.

    When I had a 36 exposure roll of Arista.EDU Ultra 100 in my F100, I started to wonder if the take-up had failed because the camera merrily kept shooting to 38 and beyond. No, not a problem. Just pretty generously loaded can.

    I have, at times, juggled between my D300 and F100. Works out pretty well.
     
  16. TheSohnly

    TheSohnly Member

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    Toledo
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Yeah, I get 1 extra because I like to squeeze that one extra out

    more bang for my buck