Ilford Lab Direct branching out to USA/Canada

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by pdeeh, Aug 27, 2013.

1. pdeeh

pdeeh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  2. Ektagraphic

Ektagraphic Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Very interesting. Based off of the order form it seems to me like The Darkroom might be doing the processing work.

3. Ten301

Ten301 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I noticed their lab is in San Clemente, California, and the order form looks suspiciously like the one used by The Darkroom, which is also located in San Clemente. I wonder if The Darkroom is involved?

4. Sal Santamaura

Sal Santamaura Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    "The Darkroom" is, by all appearances, simply an on-line marketing tool of Swan Photo Labs

which is located at 946-A Calle Amanecer, about two miles from my home. I've been a resident of San Clemente for 35 years and can confirm there is no other processing lab in this city. Swan has become the major D&P facility used by stores, camera and otherwise, up and down the US west coast, as many labs closed. With "The Darkroom," it probably captured even more business via mail-in work from around the US. This latest expansion into Ilford branding of its services will likely make Swan even more successful.

I'm struck by the coincidence of across-the-pond HARMAN, which has become my favorite (and almost exclusive) black and white materials supplier, entering into an agreement with a lab right here in my neighborhood. Small world indeed!

5. Ten301

Ten301 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Yes, checking all three websites, Swan, The Darkroom and Ilford U.S., that certainly does seem to be the case. Ilford does seem to be somewhat more expensive for comparable services so, other than the fancy boxes and envelopes with "Ilford" printed on them when you get your film back, I wonder if there is any difference in quality? All three use Ilford paper for B&W prints.

6. Thomas Bertilsson

Thomas Bertilsson Subscriber

Shooter: