Ilford warmotone resin v fibre

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by mesh, Oct 27, 2012.

1. mesh

mesh Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I've been printing on Multigrade warmtone resin for the last 6 months and love the stuff ;-) My fiber experience is limited but my only trouble has been flattening the prints. I am not concerned about being truly archival but like the 'feel' and texture of some of the fiber prints I have seen.

I am interested in the different to the actual feel between Ilford's warmtone resin and fiber. Do they feel similar? If the only advantage is archival-ability then I think I'll stick with resin but if the paper itself is more 'interesting' then I think I'll try fiber.

Thanks.

2. Greg Davis

Greg Davis Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    They feel very different, and the fiber is less warm.

3. PKM-25

PKM-25 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'll be curious to hear other replies as I have used almost 100% warm tone fiber until now and love it. I had to go resin coated for 20x24 because of potential paper expansion issues in my Jobo 3063 drum. If I like it I will order a 20" wide 250 foot roll of it and do all my larger print work with that.

I got a 10 sheet box of the 20x24 to try out, should be fun...

4. eddie

eddie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    There's a difference when you hold a dry print in your hand. To me, the RC looks like plastic. The fiber looks like paper.

5. brian steinberger

brian steinberger Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF