Im moviing to IL and its got me worried...

Discussion in 'Geographic Location' started by TSSPro, Aug 10, 2010.

1. TSSPro

TSSPro Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am moving from my South Carolina home to Carbondale, IL to go to grad school. I have been working as a professional photographer for the last four years in South Carolina and have acquired a lot of photographer contacts and friends that share photographic passions and even some local APUGers.
    I am worried, not because I'm loosing the business contacts, but rather the local friends and colleagues that have been plugged into the photographic community and region longer than I have.

Are there any APUGers in the southern IL region? Anyone know of regional photographic resources?

Thanks again APUG for the help,

2. domaz

domaz Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I used to live near Southern IL in Southeast Missouri. Southern IL was one of my favorite places to photograph, specifically places like Garden of the Gods, Giant City state park, Makanda township etc. I don't have any specific contacts for you though, perhaps try connecting at the local College, SIU.

3. Konical

Konical Subscriber

Good Morning, David,

I'm in southern Illinois, a couple of minutes from the SIU campus; unfortunately, it's the SIU-Edwardsville campus! You will definitely be in a more scenic part of the state. I seem to recall also that SIU-Carbondale has (had??) a photojournalistic department, so perhaps you'll have some resources close by.

Konical

4. Lee L

Lee L Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  5. Worker 11811

Worker 11811 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't know much about the professional landscape in Illinois but I know a little bit about the physical landscape in the area of Columbia, SC. You come from a great place to take photographs! :cool: