Increasing Graded Paper Contrast

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Richard Jepsen, May 20, 2007.

1. Richard Jepsen

Richard Jepsen Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I have no experience working with graded paper and need advice on raising print contrast. I am working with an image I wish to display printed on Galerie #3 developed in Dektol 1:2. The test print image is 1/2 or so grade too soft. Do I under expose and over develop to raise contrast?

2. jmdavis

jmdavis Member

Shooter:
    Large Format

Maybe you could try a more active developer combined with a longer print development time. Selenium may help some as well, but I figure that you already know about that.

Mike

3. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    You could also intensify the neg. Kodak Rapid Selenium Toner 1:3 for about 8 minutes should get you about a one zone contrast boost.

4. chrisofwlp

chrisofwlp Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Increasing the contrast of graded paper is very difficult. the easiest thing to do is move to a higher grade and use a water bath.

Sincerely;

5. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Raising the Contrast ½ a grade is relatively easy, all the manufacturers used to publish formulae, Ilford ID-14 would easily give you more than enough increase in contrast.

Ilford recommended Dr Beer's variable contrast developer for Galerie, and published the formula in the 1982 Ilford Galerie technical information sheet.

Ian

6. Ole

Ole Moderator Staff Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Extending development WILL help. Adjusting exposure MAY be a good idea.

Using a high-contrast developer WILL help.

Adding a little KBr (or benzotriazol) to the developer will hold back the highlights a little, resulting in higher contrast. Adding more alkali to the solution MAY enhance this.

Since you use Dektol at 1:2, try first using it full strength.