Is Graded Paper a Bit Multigrade?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Rafal Lukawiecki, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Rafal Lukawiecki

Rafal Lukawiecki Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've been using Ilford MGIV FB (and previous variants) for a long time. Today I decided to try a few of my prints on a slightly expired pack of Galerie, grade 3. As I use an Ilford 500H dichroic head I did a test to see if I would get longer exposure times using just the "soft" green or the "hard" blue setting.

To my surprise the green exposure produced a very muddy soft print with no deep blacks and no clear highlights. The blue exposure produced very deep blacks and nice highlights (as I expected) from this grade. In effect, it seems to me, like the graded Galerie emulsion responded in a somewhat multigrade fashion.

Since I have never tried this comparison before I am wondering if it is common or a result of a mistake on my part, environment, or perhaps some longevity issues of the paper. If it is a common response of Galerie, I wonder if this is a potentially useful control.

I'd be happy to scan a couple of test strips if needed.

Thanks,
    Rafal

2. Mainecoonmaniac

Mainecoonmaniac Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I think MG paper has many emulsions sensitive to green or blue, but graded paper lacks the multiple emulsions. I think graded paper is sensitive to blue.

3. JMcLaug351

JMcLaug351 Member

I've had a similar experience and I've often wondered that myself. I'm interested to see what responses you get from this thread.
    JOHN

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thats kind of how the whole principle of multigrade paper was discovered.

Films and papers from the major manufacturers are made up of blended emulsions, and spectral sensitivities do vary. So it's not a big shock that it can happen in practice :D

Ian

5. Mainecoonmaniac

Shooter:
    Multi Format