Is your grain focuser correct?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by matti, Jan 23, 2008.

1. matti

matti Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I mean:
    - Did you check it against another one?
    - Did they both focus at the same point?
    - Am I just too nervous?

/matti

2. Ray Heath

Ray Heath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    g'day matti

why dontcha just make a print with it and see how it looks?

3. Ole

Ole Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Mine isn't. :sad:

I've checked it against prints, and against prints made after focussing with a loupe directly on the paper, and against prints made after focusing with the "crossed slit" which the negative carriers have on both my enlargers.

The grain focuser is off enough to make soft prints. The neg carriers are spot on...

4. Whiteymorange

Whiteymorange Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I work in a school darkroom (when I get in there) and I've found quite a bit of difference from one grain focuser to the next, even when they are all the same brand and all new. Check your own and adjust until you get it right. I don't trust any one of them until I'm happy with a print that that particular one gives me. Most have some way of adjusting the lens.

Problem is... I can't seem to keep them assigned to individual enlargers ( see the "school" comment.) Shouldn't be a problem if you're the only one using it.

5. Stephen Frizza

Stephen Frizza Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have a generic 30 dollar Grain Focuser and it isn't accurate! So I invested in a PEAK Professor Z.Koana model #2000 system Enlarging focuser
    and having compared 3 of them with one another they are all the same accuracy. Totally accurate!!! I love these focuses the are the best design Ive ever encountered.