Iso 50-125 speed film with a future?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Hamster, Jul 8, 2012.

1. Hamster

Hamster Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format Pan
    I am looking for suggestion for a 35mm film between ISO 50-125 that I can standardise my process on.

I do mostly portraits with this speed and and looking for something that is reasonably cheap, with good shadows and has good USA availability for the foreseeable future.

Previously I standardized on Arista Premium 100, developed in Tanol. However now that kodak no longer manufactures Plus-X it seem this combination is gone.

Before that my winning combination was Lucky SHD 100 NEW with D-76. I had a boatload of the stuff and had a really good run with it. However I don't want to buy it from China.

Ilford FP4 is a film I really like but it is expensive at the time being. I am not a pro and only photograph for my own private enjoyment. I use it in 120 format for special projects.

I tried FOMAPAN and did not like it. I am now looking into Fuji Acros, or one of the ADOX products. Neither is as cheap as I would like but I tend pull process so I need something with good shadow texture.

The two developer I use now is Rodinal (R09) and Moresch Tanol, mostly because of good shelf life. If you guys know a film that will work good with those two it would be ideal.

2. MDR

MDR Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Kodak T-max 100 pulled to 64 ISO gives beautiful results, EFKE 50 is not bad either really gives an old time look in Tanol.

Dominik

3. Slixtiesix

Slixtiesix Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    How about Kentmere 100? It´s said to be really close to FP4+. I have no own experience with it myself though...

4. polyglot

polyglot Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format