Jobo 2509 - Universally loathed or is it just me?

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by viridari, Mar 2, 2013.

1. viridari

viridari Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I picked up a Jobo 2509 spool and 2521 tank to begin processing my first 4x5 film. I've got plenty of 135 and 120 experience, and actually thought that this appeared to be easier.

I probably scratched up my first test images struggling with this stuff inside of my changing bag. I never did get more than one sheet of film loaded at a time. All it would take is the side of the changing bag brushing against the back of the film sheet and *poof* it's off-track. So a larger changing tent is in order (something I wanted anyway because it's even constraining for 120 work).

With a proper changing tent, am I still likely to loathe using this thing? I'm starting to look at things that will not endear me to my family, like trying to make our little bathroom light-tight so I can do tray processing on the floor or in the tub in there.

2. j_landecker

j_landecker Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    The best thing is probably to practice with the reel out of the changing bag and some scrap sheets of film. You'll get the hang of guiding the sheets into the right slots by locating the slot openings with your fingertips. The film shouldn't pop out that easily - it has to withstand being pushed around by sloshing liquid in the tank, after all. A changing tent would probably be easier.

3. LJH

LJH Member

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Get rid of the bag.

Since upgrading to a Harrison Jumbo, I haven't looked back.

I load/unload 35mm, 120, 4x5 (both Expert and 2509n) and 7x17" in it. I also have the Pup, but this isn't used much as the extra room of the Jumbo makes everything so easy.

4. paul_c5x4

paul_c5x4 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format