Jobo 2509n 4x5, light leak or uneven development? HELP PLEASE!

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by ufpd, May 20, 2009.

1. ufpd

ufpd Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi!

I am new to the 4x5 world. I recently purchased my first camera and a used Jobo CPP2 processor.

I am using a 2509 tank with a 6 sheet spiral, 5 minutes pre soak, 300cc TMAX-RS 75 degrees 1:9 dilution for 8.5 minutes. Stop and fixer. Al using position 4 for the motor rotation.

In one of the first batches I developed an unexposed sheet by mistake and I found strange bands in it. I assumed it was the sheet was fogged when loading or unloading.

So I repeated the experience, 3 exposed sheets and one unexposed. This time I used the black accesories that came with the spiral. I thaught it can be a problem with chemistry distribution. The result was the same.

Repeated again, I loaded 2 brand new sheets from the box (Tmax100) This time I was completely sure there was no problem with loading or unloading since I skipped the holder, from the box to the tank. Same results.

[​IMG]

In this photo you can se the bands. Exagerated for viewing pourposes.
    The two sheets are from diferent batches, and the pattern is ALWAYS the SAME

I discarded: film problems, loading and unloading problems.

I only can think of a light leak in the tank or uneven development. But the patters are SO alike I think it can only be a light leak.

I tried to find the same band pattern in exposed sheets but none of them have them as far as I can see.

Please help me!

Thanks in advance

Alejandro

2. MartinP

MartinP Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Was the film x-rayed in transit to you ? Possibly a normal exposure would swamp the banding, but it does look pretty strong.