Kodak Ektar 100: skin tone EI?

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by ymc226, Mar 12, 2011.

1. ymc226

ymc226 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    This is my first try at color in any film. I just bought Kodak Ektar 120 and need some advice on shooting outdoors regarding skin tones. Usually to get the skin tones in B&W in the shade I desire, I cut EI to half of what the box states.

Do I do the same for color or do I just go with box speed? BTW I am using a Fuji GSW690III with a Voigtlander II reflectance meter.

2. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Use the box speed. C-41 can be pushed and pulled with some losses. But why bother? The latitude of C-41 film is wide enough to cover most subject brightness range [SBR]. I do a lot of outdoor photography and I have had no problems with the box speed. I have not done long exposures in many years, so I am not current on C-41 reciprocity failure.

Steve

3. thegman

thegman Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I think it depends what look you're going for, but box speed or over expose half a stop should look OK I think.

4. brucemuir

brucemuir Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    There are reports of this emulsion going blue in the shadows if underexposed or if the scene is lit from clear blue sky.
    This is common with most C41 so if pleasing skin tones are what you're after, filter for this if possible and I think 1/2 to 1 stop of over exposure will cover you.

I haven't shot any Ektar yet (late to this party)but if skin was my priority I would go with a Portra.

5. Markster

Markster Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Ektar 100 negative film (the new stuff) doesn't like over-exposure. It bleeds out and loses a number of colors. Expose at box speeds.

Ektar so far seems to do skin tones just fine, though. I'm still shooting some rolls to develop, but my test roll looked good.

6. benjiboy

benjiboy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format