Kodak Ektar f7.7 203mm help needed

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by kameraobskura, Jun 12, 2012.

1. kameraobskura

kameraobskura Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi,

Im new to this and just bought my first LF camera. It came with a Kodak Ektar f7.7 203mm on a Supermatic shutter and after searching almost everywhere I was wondering about two functions on the shutter (marked in red).
    What do they do? The button is marked with an X on the back..

I read somewhere if I want x-sync it has to be set to F and with some easy modification I can turn it into X? How easy is it? Also read that set to F and fired with electronic flash the flash would be 1/3 to 1/2 stop down. Correct?

Skjermbilde 2012-06-12 kl. 22.49.06.png Skjermbilde 2012-06-12 kl. 22.49.37.png

2. rjbuzzclick

rjbuzzclick Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I believe it will fire on X-sync regardless of the M or F setting as long as you don't slide the other lever you've marked before firing the shutter. That lever engages the flash delay mechanism, which will be M or F depending on how the M/F slider is set.

3. Old-N-Feeble

Old-N-Feeble Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Is the rear lens cell missing?

4. luisalegria

luisalegria Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    The button is supposed to open the shutter even if its set to a speed other than B or T, for quick focusing.
    There is a similar button on some Wollensak Raptars.
    This does not work on the one Supermatic I've got though.

5. vet173

vet173 Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    yes. If this is the way you received this lens take it back and get the rest, or your money back. This is NOT a complete lens.

6. Dan Fromm

Dan Fromm Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That may be because you're not using the press focus button properly. To use it, cock the shutter and then trip the shutter while holding the button in. To close the shutter, cock and trip again.