Kodak Retina IIa Folder

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by cliveh, Nov 17, 2013.

1. cliveh

cliveh Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I have recently acquired a Kodak Retina IIa Folder with a Schneider-Kreuznach Xenon 2/50 mm. I have never used one of these before and wondered if anyone familiar with this camera could give me any tips or advice. I must admit I like the design and am looking forward to putting a film through it.

2. jcoldslabs

jcoldslabs Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I have my grandfather's Retina II from 1940 with the f/2 Xenon and it is a great camera. I have a lot of fun with it. I think you'll enjoy yours. It's a bit slow to use compared to modern cameras, but that's part of the charm, I think. Here's a shot I took with it to test the rangefinder's accuracy at close distances. It worked better than expected after all these years:

[​IMG]

Jonathan

3. BMbikerider

BMbikerider Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    In their day a superb bit of equipment and still is providing:- So long as the shutter works accurately and there is no sloppiness in the folding mechanism. The lens isn't scratched or has fungus, and finally the rangefinder (if it is a model with one) works, you have a lovely piece of lightweight kit. The Xenon lens was a beauty! Being all mechanical most of the faults if there are any can be sorted out or made to work in a reasonable fashion.

4. mr rusty

mr rusty Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have later Retinas with similar lenses which are excellent. The wind-on like all Retinas has a cocking rack and pinion which is the most fragile part of the camera, so treat the wind with respect,

lots of info here

http://retinarescue.com/retinauser.html

otherwise good shooting!

5. momus

momus Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format