Large Format Aesthetics

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by aatonpanavision, Jan 11, 2009.

1. aatonpanavision

aatonpanavision Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm mainly a people/advertising style photographer, similar in vein to this kind of stuff:
    http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/7206/carrie1231ge.jpg

however this semester at my college I have to take an LF class and use an 8x10 camera.

My concern is that 8x10, suits a much different style and aesthetic than I'm used to. And thinking about the ultra sharp clarity of LF it seems you'd have to have a different approach to fashion photography, like it'd be more about the clarity and focus of the image rather than the shapes.
    anyways does anybody have experience or suggestions about fashion shooting on 8x10 - notable photographers? BTW I don't like Dave Lachapelle or Gregory Crewdson style -- so just a heads up.
    thanks

2. rcoda

rcoda Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Avedon.

3. Ulrich Drolshagen

Ulrich Drolshagen Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    You may have look at the recent book of Jim Rakete, "1/8 sec". He's a German photographer, which made the portraits for this book with an 8x10 camera.
    http://www.art-magazin.de/kunst/3393.html
    The text is in German but you may be more interested in the pictures anyway.

Ulrich

PS the pictures are of German celebrities mostly

4. David Brown

David Brown Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yep! First one that came to my mind.

That may be the point. Academic settings often make artists do something they are not used to, or that they do not want to do. :wink:

5. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format