Large Format View camera that shoots roll film plus possible future digital back?

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Rinthe, Nov 16, 2010.

1. Rinthe

Rinthe Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    So i went from 35mm to medium and now i'm looking at view cameras...

is it better to get a large format camera with roll film back or a medium format view camera?

any suggestions welcome, I'm very new to the LF. I really don't want to carry around something very big, but i WANT the movements!

2. M.A.Longmore

M.A.Longmore Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have three roll film backs { 120 - 6X7, 6X9, 220 - 6X7 }
    That I use with the 4X5, total cost for all three $67.00.
    Taking the Low-Budget approach at the moment.
    Hopefully someday the 500C will be repaired ...

Someday Soon Hopefully ?

Ron

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 16, 2010
  3. Rinthe

Rinthe Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I do have a 500c/m. but i don't see any way to make it move since the shutter is in the lens :/

4. aluncrockford

aluncrockford Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    One solution is to get a Sinar f or p with a bag bellows ,you can use a roll film back with ease and for digital there is the option of a sliding back or less ideal, an adaptor back which allows you to put a P45 on to a hasselblad film back fitting. I Have used the sliding back years and it works well . This option also allows you to expand your kit with endless amounts of Sinar equipment which can be had at a very good price indeed .

5. 2F/2F

2F/2F Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you are going to put a digital back on it some day, I'd go for any 4x5 with a standard Graflok style back. It has been the standard for decades now, and I don't imagine it changing any time soon. I don't know anything about digital, but all digital backs for 4x5 cameras must be compatible with the Graflok system. 4x5s are not really large cameras, so I wouldn't worry about that.