Leica R6 SLR -- slight lag in shutter? Normal or not?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by Trask, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Trask

Trask Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I'm looking at a Leica R6 body for $390 (but negotiable); when I fire the shutter, at any shutter speed, I get the impression that the camera is hesitating slightly before actually going through the mirror up-shutter open/close - mirror down sequence. Usually, with most cameras I've used (and I've used a lot), there's minimal shutter lag between tripping the shutter and the camera responding. This R6 strikes me as being a bit on the "lazy" side, but I have no other experience with the camera.

Does anyone find that their R6 is like this, or is it more likely this camera has a problem?

2. Mustafa Umut Sarac

Mustafa Umut Sarac Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I used Leicaflex and there was anything like shutter lag. I think there might be a problem. Buy R4 and R3 from keh com starting from 80 dollars. Its faraway cheaper than to repair that camera. If it is broke , you buy another one.

Good luck,

Umut

3. John Koehrer

John Koehrer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    All SLr's work the same general way. You press the button and there's a linkage that releases the mirror which then trips the shutter.
    What you're describing is a slow lever,actuator or even mirror. It needs a CLA to replace/remove the old gunk.
    Depending where you send it it can be reasonable(for a Leica) or expensive(normal)

4. GaryS

GaryS Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Yes, absolutely normal-- the R6 and R7 have a noticeable lag.

5. Rol_Lei Nut

Rol_Lei Nut Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The Leicaflexes have one of the shortest (possibly *the* shortest) shutter lags of all mirror flipping SLRs, one of several ways in which they're somewhat "rangefinder-like".

The R series are quite different cameras, so comparisons are meaningless.