Lenswork Magazine?

Discussion in 'Book, Magazine, Gallery Reviews, Shows & Contests' started by hoffy, Jul 20, 2010.

1. hoffy

hoffy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I was listening to the latest "Film Photography Podcast" today and they made mention of the "Lenswork" magazine.

Considering this was the Film photography podcast, I would have thought that the magazine would have had a film slant, but from the looks of it on the website, the mag is yet another "digital is so great" reads.

Does anyone get this one? Is there any film content? Curious to know.

Cheers

2. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Posted wirelessly..

The amount of film content can be dubious at best. I have a subscription to Lenswork extended and get all of the interviews and 'darkroom' tours, of which a few are of real darkrooms. I do enjoy the magazine. And being 'digital-is-so-great' could not be further from the truth. They don't promote the medium used, just plain great photography, IMHO.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2010
  3. Dan Henderson

Dan Henderson Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I used to read Lenswork, and study the portfolios of the various photographers in each issue. But I am unable to look at work without first learning whether it is analog or digital, and I lose interest as soon as I find out I am looking at digital images. Over time it seemed like the number of digital portfolios began outnumbering the analog ones, and Lenswork became, for me, more of the digital noise out there, as did the old Black and White magazine of a few years ago.

Is one refuge from the digital storm too much to ask?

4. 36cm2

36cm2 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Posted wirelessly..

Yeah, I've subscribed and unsubscribed on and off for years. I definitely feel as if lenswork used to have more film work,