Light locks for entering darkroom - and computers in darkrooms

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by matti, Aug 20, 2012.

1. matti

matti Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Two questions:

Is there a simple way to make a light lock for entering a darkroom without letting light in? I remember using revolving doors or just a zig-zag path when I worked as a journalist. I wouldn't want to use a revolving door. But is there a way to make a simple light lock by just putting up some walls or curtains. It would be great to be able to let air in and also sneak out for a glass of red wine while waiting for the lith print to develop.

Also: Is it possible to use a computer in the darkroom? Maybe a combination of rubylith and some sort of baffles? Anyone did it?

My first darkroom was me sitting on the floor of our really small appartement bathroom. As you can understand, my new darkroom is going to be huge! Now I just have to wait for the old oil boiler and tank to be removed before I can start!

/matti

2. nsurit

nsurit Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. bdial

bdial Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Two doors in line with a person-sized space in between works, but may take up too much space. For a home darkroom I'd probably use a door and a curtain.
    Often I do DR work at night, so if I know I want to leave the darkroom while somethings going that requires dark, I'll turn out the lights in the adjacent rooms beforehand, then I can open the DR door at will.

4. David Brown

David Brown Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yes, but why?

5. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm not sure why you would not want a revolving door. That is the most compact solution. A light maze entrance takes up much more space.

6. winger

winger Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format