Light meter - any suggestion?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Mirko Lazzarin, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Mirko Lazzarin

Mirko Lazzarin Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello everyone,
    I recently approached to medium format photography, buying a Mamiya C220 and a Rollecord IV..Therefore I am an aboslute beginner..At the moment, I measure the exposure through one of my SLR and I am now trying to buy a proper hand light meter.
    Would you have any type to suggest? Would it be better choice a incident light or reflective light meter??
    I am kinda lost :confused:
    Thanks for your kind support!!
    Mirko

2. Mike Kennedy

Mike Kennedy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Mirko,
    Lots of them out there.Why don't you use our Forum pages to find one that may work for you?
    Click forums,scroll down to exposure and type in "meters".Better minds than mine have posted their thoughts.

Mike

3. Steve Roberts

Steve Roberts Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi Mirko,
    A while back I acquired a Rolleiflex T and Weston Master V meter as part of a package. The meter was still in its original packaging with a price sticker of £13 and an odd number of pence that suggested the price was a decimal conversion from a previous price in pounds, shillings and pence and put the date therefore at around the time of UK decimilisation - 1969/70/71. Given that the meter was 35+ years old, I approached it cautiously, but I needn't have worried as the negatives from the Rollei were as well exposed as one would hope. Like Mike, I'm not professing any great knowledge of hand-held meters, but can only say that that combination worked for me!
    Best wishes,
    Steve

4. Mirko Lazzarin

Mirko Lazzarin Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format

Hi Mike,
    Yep, that could be the easiest way!
    Thanks a lot, I will go to have a look right now!
    Thanks
    Mirko

5. Polybun

Polybun Guest

Anything that says Gossen! :D