Litmann

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Rubin, Apr 27, 2005.

1. Rubin

Rubin Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I need some infos about Litmann 4x5 cameras. Would you please help me posting your impressions? Is it possible to have some picture of the camera itself? Here in Europe is impossible to find and to have a close encounter, so I would like to have as much informations (words and images) as possible.
    Merci
    Rubin

2. rbarker

rbarker Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have no personal experience with the Littmann conversions, Rubin, but I recall seeing considerable discussion on some of the photo forums. If you search on "Littmann 45" you may find more info.

3. Rubin

Rubin Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Thank you Ralph, I already did it but the threads were written some months ago then some members of our forum own a Litmann since quite a long time and I would be very pleased if they want to share their impressions after having used this camera for more than a couple of months... and I would appreciate also comment about the feeling of handling it, is it light? Do you feel is well built? And so on.
    Thank you
    Rubin

4. blansky

blansky Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Their web site is www.littman45single.com

I have had one for about a year but have not used it as much as I would like. It is a very well made conversion of a polaroid camera that allows you to use a handheld 4x5 as a rangefinder.

It is fairly light and well built and relatively easy to focus like a smaller rangefinder. They come with a couple of lens options like a 127 and a 150. I have the 150. You cannot change lenses. You can also order the ground glass option and use it like an ordinary 4x5.

I use it with grafmatic backs that allow 6 shots, so what you have is a 6 shot 4x5 portable camera that is easy and fun to use.

It is quite expensive $2500 - 3500 rannge depending on what you order.