Lomographic Society

Discussion in 'Lo-Fi Cameras' started by gr82bart, Feb 9, 2007.

1. gr82bart

gr82bart Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    So what with all the anti-Lomo sentiment out there? Why? Is Lomo to certain ToyCameras like Kodak is to certain Film Photographers? Why the hate-on?

Regards, Art.

2. jstraw

jstraw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I had no idea. I have no real knowledge of Lomo other than references on the web or in a few books. What is the nature of this hate?

3. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Weird, they find a way to bring fun back into photography for many people. Even saving some Russian camera manufacturers from disappearing, and that thanks they get from some people. I have a few of their products. I knew before buying that I wasn't getting Sinar/Leica/top of the line quality, but hey, I've enjoyed their products for what they are.

Some people are just negative, and in photography the end result is the positive. Ha ha ha ha.

4. Leon

Leon Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    people have a problem with the Lomo Society because they take a certain product, repackage and over-hype then charge a fortune for something that would have cost half the price before Lomo society bought up the last remaining stocks.

I suppose you could say that if people stupid enough to pay the prices lomo society charge, then more fool them.

I think it's like the move towards local indepent shops and away from supermarket grocery sales that is happening over here in th uk within some circles of society. I guess some people think there is a point where businesses get too big for their boots.

I must admit, it is my opinion that most of the stuff they sell is rubbish wrapped up in smart packaging. But, as FrankB once said, you cant polish a turd :smile:

5. DBP

DBP Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format