Looking for Nikon F100 Lens Compatability

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by bobwysiwyg, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. bobwysiwyg

    bobwysiwyg Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,623
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, M
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not that I needed it, but could not pass up an F100 body. I tried my Sigma EX Aspherical 28-70mm on but it doesn't like it. Too bad as I have that lens as well as a 24mm and 70-200mm that work fine on my N90s. I have a Nikon G AF 28-80 which works fine, but I'm not particularly fond of the G lenses. Any insights or experience with the F100 and compatible lens options would be appreciated. Off to do some searching.
     
  2. markbarendt

    markbarendt Subscriber

    Messages:
    6,670
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Beaverton, O
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Pretty much AI and newer.

    Don't know why the Sigma is fighting you.
     
  3. tkamiya

    tkamiya Member

    Messages:
    4,250
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Location:
    Central Flor
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have several F100s.... All of my lenses are AFD, AF non-D, and G. All of them work just fine. My understanding is that all AF lenses are supposed to work. With anything earlier, you will run into limitations on what metering mode the camera will recognize.
     
  4. bobwysiwyg

    bobwysiwyg Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,623
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, M
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Me either. Even moving the Sigma lens collar out to "manual " it still displays fEE.
     
  5. brucemuir

    brucemuir Member

    Messages:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Metro DC are
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The Sigmas are notorious for having chips in there that just dont play nicely across the board.
    I've seen this nmost often with Canon but it stands to reason the same problems exists.
     
  6. Chris Nielsen

    Chris Nielsen Member

    Messages:
    490
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Waikato, New
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Silly question but you did set the aperture to the smallest, right? f/22 or whatever it goes to?
     
  7. bobwysiwyg

    bobwysiwyg Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,623
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, M
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I 'll dig out the 24 and 70-200 and see if it is across the board with the Sigmas. I do like them, f2.8 and lot heavier than the G.
     
  8. markbarendt

    markbarendt Subscriber

    Messages:
    6,670
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Beaverton, O
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That's normally an aperture ring placement or mode choice thing.

    Several "fixes" are available.

    Move the lens aperture ring to the minimum aperture point and the warning will probably disappear. There is probably a lock tab on the lens available to keep it there too. In this arrangement the aperture is adjusted with the thumb wheel.

    In the custom settings menu you can choose to set aperture with the ring rather than the thumb wheel. In this arrangement the aperture ring is left unlocked and there is also normally no fEE warning.
     
  9. bobwysiwyg

    bobwysiwyg Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,623
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, M
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    This is a non-starter in this case. I always have the lenses set/locked this way (unless in the field I want to control things), still gets the fEE.

    I'll give this one a try. Found an on-line PDF manual for the F100 and I'll spend some time with it as well. I have determined that none of my Sigmas work on the F100; 24mm, 28-70mm, nor the 70-200mm though all are quite happy on the N90s.
     
  10. markbarendt

    markbarendt Subscriber

    Messages:
    6,670
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Beaverton, O
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What camera mode are you using?
     
  11. dpurdy

    dpurdy Subscriber

    Messages:
    2,211
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I have 2 F100 bodies and my 2.8 28-105 Tamron works fine with one and sometimes or sometimes not with the other. Something in the communication between body and lens.
     
  12. bobwysiwyg

    bobwysiwyg Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,623
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, M
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Lens locked to smallest aperture (f22 in this case), pressing "Mode" and rotating command dial through all modes doesn't affect anything, still displays fEE. :sad: I originally purchased the Sigmas back when I ventured into Dig, with an D100. They work fine on it and on the N90s, which one would think it pretty a pretty darn close relative to the F100. I guess close does only count in horseshoes.
     
  13. markbarendt

    markbarendt Subscriber

    Messages:
    6,670
    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Beaverton, O
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well that's disappointing.
     
  14. dorff

    dorff Member

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    South Africa
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, I think definitely a lens/camera communication issue. I had this with a Sigma 28-300 which was part of a used kit, and I promptly sold the lens.

    I know Sigma makes some nice lenses, but over the years I have had two Sigmas of which both gave me mechanical failures. Since then, I just avoid Sigmas totally. I have also found in some cases that although the Sigmas are often just as sharp as the Nikkor counterparts, they tend to suffer more from other lens flaws, like CA and distortion. They have quality control issues. Some people say as many as 1 in 3 Sigmas are misaligned or have a similar problem. The inconsistency is what irks me. That means you have to be very careful buying them used, and as a result means they have much lower used value. The Sigmas' aperture ring runs on a little steel ball that clicks into grooves on the inside of the ring. Once that mechanism gets damaged, it is a nightmare to get permanently repaired, as it simply finds a way to slip out again every so often. The rubber and paint on older Sigmas turns into glue at some point. Most Nikkors will last longer than a lifetime if you look after them carefully. A good Sigma might last 15 or 20 years, if you are careful and treat it well. Anything longer than that, and you are in a grace period.
     
  15. jochen

    jochen Member

    Messages:
    352
    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I would not confirm the statement that "most Nikkors will last longer than a lifetime if you look after them carefully." This might be true for the professional zooms like the 2,8/20-35, 17-35, 28-70 or 80-200 but surely not for the Thailand- or China made consumer plastic rattle zooms.
     
  16. BMbikerider

    BMbikerider Member

    Messages:
    768
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Location:
    County Durha
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Some 'after market' non makers lenses have a reputation for not being compatible with more 'modern cameras and this may be the case with yours. The circuitry may not be quite what the lens/camera combination needs.

    I have a Nikon D300 as well as my F models and one of my lenses a 400 F4 Tokina will not focus with the D300 at all. Manually it will but autofocus - NO! The same can be said about the Sigma 70-300 too, on the film cameras it is fine but at 300mm with the D300 it is useless unless used manually.
     
  17. blockend

    blockend Member

    Messages:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    northern eng
    Shooter:
    35mm
    +1
     
  18. Salem

    Salem Member

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have used few Sigmas in the past, mainly with an F100, and only kept the 70mm f2.8 EX macro which is a brilliant lens. The others where OK mechanically, but they're just not all that optically. It is the EX that differentiate a good Sigma from a bad Sigma!
     
  19. zk-cessnaguy

    zk-cessnaguy Member

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    Auckland, Ne
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The following Sigma lenses work flawlessly for me on the F100: 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM, 150mm f/2.8 EX Macro APO DG HSM, 15-30mm f/3.5-4.5 EX DG, 24-70mm f/2.8 EX DG , 70-200mm f/2.8 EX APO HSM and 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM.
    I have two F100 bodies, two F4 bodies and a D700 and haven't experienced any issues with any of the different cameras.
     
  20. John Koehrer

    John Koehrer Subscriber

    Messages:
    6,055
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Montgomery,
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've also seen this with Sigma and a variety of camera brands.
     
  21. John Koehrer

    John Koehrer Subscriber

    Messages:
    6,055
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Montgomery,
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Close also counts in hand grenades.
     
  22. fotch

    fotch Member

    Messages:
    4,821
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    SE WI- USA
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    :confused: