looking to buy a dark room set

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by jaimeb82, Jan 8, 2009.

1. jaimeb82

jaimeb82 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am really new to film photography, someone is selling a darkroom set on craigslist, but since I have not much idea about brands, models, quality of things related to darkroom equipment etc... I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice about this darkroom package.

1.- is this set good for a newbie like me?
    2.- does it contain the basics to start developing and printing on my own?

Thanks in advance, here is the link to his post:

http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/pho/979620574.html

2. pgomena

pgomena Member

That looks like a great setup. You probably can flesh out the remaining things you will need for a reasonably small amount of money. (There is always something else you need . . .)

Peter Gomena

3. JRJacobs

JRJacobs Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    That's a pretty complete setup. Like Peter said, there may be a few odds and ends you will still need, but that is a pretty good one. Good lenses, good enlarger, and good easel. Make him an offer.

4. jaimeb82

jaimeb82 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    thank you guys for the quick response and help. So the set will work and is not something really old etc... My other wonder is that I just realized I have no way to test if the enlarger is in good order, will work, is it broken?. I guess I am up to my own luck with that one?

5. Konical

Konical Subscriber

Good Afternoon, Jaime,

I agree with the other comments. The items are standard, good-quality stuff. Check the lenses for clarity and proper aperture function. Check the enlarger for any obvious damage or missing parts; the picture is too small to be sure, but I see no visible problems. Enlargers are rather simple things, and most defects are not hard to spot. If you can get the entire set-up for a few hundred dollars, you should be OK.

Konical

6. eddie gunks