LPL 7700 Pro Alignment Issues?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by StephanJ, Apr 27, 2006.

1. StephanJ

StephanJ Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi folks,

I picked up an LPL 7700 Pro a while ago in anticipation of building a darkroom. Since the latter has yet to happen I've not had a chance to try it out. However, I've had a tinker....

It has a knob that you twist to lock the head at a particular height and I've noticed that doing this actually causes the head to tilt back a little - possibly a few degrees. This suggests that I will have to be wary of alignment issues and that a bit of stopping down is in order.

I'm a relatively novice darkroom user so any advice or opinions either specific or general would be welcome.

2. Jon Shiu

Jon Shiu Subscriber

Shooter:
    Plastic Cameras
    Hi, the head is not supposed to move when you lock down the height. If yours is moving several degrees, I think that there is possibly something that needs to be tightened up or is damaged. (I have 2 LPL670VCCE enlargers and neither of them do that.)

Jon

3. firecracker

firecracker Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Check to column and see if it's bent, curved, twisted, etc. If the head is okay, keep it and perhaps look for a replacement for the column.

I'm not sure if this particular model has anyway to adjust and/or align once it goes out. I think it's a factory-aligned type. I have a similar model.

4. StephanJ

StephanJ Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thanks for the replies. Overall it's in excellent condition. I've had a look at the assembly. The column appear fine, and unfortunately I can't see anything that's adjustable.

If I have to write it off it's no real loss as I bought it as part of a bundle with a CPE2, trays, graduates, tanks and so on.

Stephan

5. Dave Miller

Dave Miller Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Check the alignment with the head locked since this is the only way that you are going to use it.

6. Sean

Sean Admin Staff Member Admin

Shooter: