Mamiya 645afd only good for studio work?

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by u2slow, Oct 5, 2009.

1. u2slow

u2slow Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I am new to medium format and i am currently researching Mamiya 645 afd.
    In your opinion, is this camera more for studio work? is it ok to use it for everyday shooting. I hope my question make sense to you.

Thank You.

2. Tony-S

Tony-S Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I think many people by the 6x4.5 cameras for portability. So none of them are "studio-only" cameras. Heck, I even haul my Bronica GS-1 into the great outdoors and it's a 6x7.

3. Derek Lofgreen

Derek Lofgreen Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    My F4 is just as big and weighs as much as my Mamiya. I take them both in the field without any problems.

D.

4. Greg_E

Greg_E Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I don't think the AF is fast enough for pictures of certain types of racing, otherwise it should work for just about anything.

5. Leighgion

Leighgion Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Whatever you're comfortable carrying is okay for field work.

I don't have an AF Mamiya, but do have a manual focus Mamiya 645 Super and all of its shooting has been out and about.

6. keithwms

keithwms Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I had a 645afd and a 645 pro, and I use them both in many different ways, they are very versatile. I'd definitely not call the afd a studio-only camera, it has many features that are very nice for the field. There are many super-fast lenses and high shutter speeds, and also a few leaf-shutter lenses.

The rb/rz are better suited for studio work IMHO than the 645s. 645 was probably invented for covering events e.g. weddings and such, that'd be my guess. But you can use all of these cameras any way you see fit!