Mamiya RZ67 - Problem with successive shots

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Corto, Jun 26, 2010.

1. Corto

Corto Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi everybody !

I am completely new to the analog mamiya world and received my RZ67 set yesterday. I just wanted to try a bit the beast without film and came across the following problem : when I try to "take" a shot, I am only able to use the shutter once. Then, whatever I try, I must remove the lens before being able to "take" an other shot.

Here are my step-by-step actions:
    - Without the lens, with the RM lever on "white", I push the cocking lever to set the mirror.
    - I then attach the lens.
    - I then take a picture, everything works fine. I even checked without the Film Holder and the mirror/shutter are working properly.

But then, I can not just use the cocking lever and take several other frames. The shutter refuse to work and the monitor light for "Cocking Lever Not Set" illuminate.

To take an other shot, I must restart from scratch by removing the lens,...

Anyone has an idea ? That would be really helpful !
    Thanks a lot in advance !

2. John Koehrer

John Koehrer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Try it with the back on & set for multi exposure.

3. Dave_ON

Dave_ON Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Check the battery.

4. Corto

Corto Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Thanks a lot for your answer.
    I tried both and still the same :sad:...

5. Mainecoonmaniac

Mainecoonmaniac Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You shouldn't attach the lens with the body cocked. You are probably cocking the camera body but not the lens too. That's my wild guess on your problem.

6. Corto

Corto Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Really ? Because that is what I understand from the manual page 11 "Setting the Mirror"...

7. EdSawyer

EdSawyer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    dry firing