MF Folders Worth Having

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Alex Hawley, Sep 24, 2006.

1. Alex Hawley

Alex Hawley Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Sadly, its time to retire the beloved Yashica TLR. After seeing Chris Pandino's very nice 6x6 Ansco rangefinder yesterday, I've decided to go with a folder. So, what are the opinions as to which one's are worth having? Not interested in anything pre-WWII. My general requirements are 6x6 folder, preferebly rangefinder but SLRs are OK too. I'm kind of shy about the Russian cameras but maybe that's being too cautious. I would like a good quality serviceable camera.

2. Dan Fromm

Dan Fromm Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have no experience with them -- when I was in the mood for that sort of thing so was Kerry Thalmann and he always outbid me -- but folklore has it that the Voigtlaender Perkeo with Color-Skopar or better (Color Heliar, Apo-Lanthar) is in every way a marvel.

If you want a camera that folds but won't go into a pocket, that opens up the world of 2x3 press cameras and interchangeable lenses. I'm very happy with my humble Century Graphic, other makes have their partisans too.

3. Alex Hawley

Alex Hawley Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Thanks for your recommendation Dan. However, a press camera is not what I'm looking for this time. I should have said this in my original post. I've had experience them in the past and agree, they are top-rung. If one falls into my lap at the right price, I won't refuse it, that's for sure.

4. Ole

Ole Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I've got several good MF folders, and two great ones (both 6x4.5): Zeiss Ikon Ikonta 621 (with coated Tessar 75/3.5), and a Daiichi Zenobia (with coated Neo-Hesper 75/3.5).