n00b Film Development

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by desame.one, Feb 12, 2012.

1. desame.one

desame.one Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello.

I'm new to shooting 35mm black & white and will be developing my own film (Ilford FP4+ and HP5+). I have compiled a list of what I plan to purchase from B&H Photo and was hoping the members of this fine forum can chime in and give their opinion(s) regarding my choices. Negatives will be scanned, so development of my negatives is about as far as my process will go for now.

Thanks in advance for your input.

- Kalt Large Changing Bag Double Zipper with Elastic Arm Holes (27x30")
    - Paterson Multi-Reel 3 Tank ONLY (Super System 4)
    - Paterson Auto Load Adjustable Reel for Super System 4 Tanks
    - General Brand 1-3/4" Stainless Steel Dial Thermometer
    - Paterson Plastic Beaker (Ounce and Metric Graduations) (32oz)
    - Delta 1 Datatainer Storage Bottle with Liquid Level Clear Measuring Stripe (32oz)
    - Print File Archival Storage Page for Negatives, 35mm, 7-Strips of 5-Frames (100-pack)

- Ilford Ilfosol-3 Film Developer for Black and White Film
    - Ilford Ilfostop Stop Bath
    - Ilford Rapid Fixer
    - Kodak Photo-Flo 200 Solution

2. dehk

dehk Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    How many reels you are supposed to put in that Multi reel tank?
    E.g. if it fits 2 i think you need to get all two, if you are only doing one roll u still need to keep the one reel with film at the bottom.

General Brand 1-3/4" Stainless Steel Dial Thermometer , alternative, go buy a digital kitchen thermometer at walmart or equiv.

You can also buy a plastic beaker at Walmart or equiv.

Stop bath? go buy some White Vinegar and dilute it more.

Optional, might wanna look for a film squeegee.

3. desame.one

desame.one Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Three reels.

Wow. White vinegar? That's awesome! What's the dilution ratio for that?

4. dehk

dehk Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  5. zsas

zsas Member