n00b needs advise on an old manual camera

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by firewireguy, Sep 2, 2008.

1. firewireguy

firewireguy Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi there,

I'm a film n00b, although not new to photography, I have been shooting digital for 3 years with a Nikon D50 and D2H. But having recently fallen in love with the prints I've gotten from cheap disposable cameras I want to pick up a proper film camera and try it out. But I don't know what camera to get so I need some advise.

Now although I have a Nikon camera at the moment I have no lenses with an aperture ring and I plan to start with just a 50mm lens so I'm not tied at all to the F mount and am looking at alternatives.

I want something with aperture priority and manual mode but don't really care for timers etc.

I've heard good things about the Olympus OM-10 and I like the look of it even though it's only aperture priority without the adapter. I don't really want anything too modern as I like the look of these old cameras.

Are there any other suggestions for a good starting point?

Regards,

Paul

2. Jeff Kubach

Jeff Kubach Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I would look into Pentax K1000 or Canon FTb which can be had used through KEH. There are other good choices also, Nikon etc.

Jeff

3. Mike Kennedy

Mike Kennedy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Don't know much about the OM series but my local camera shop manager did tell me to stay away from the OM-10 (too electrical & too plastic).
    The K1000 is a wonderful camera.Lots of lenses to choose from.

4. filmamigo

filmamigo Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I recommend a slightly newer Pentax than the K1000 (which has attained a cult status and is priced higher because of it.)

For all-manual exposure, go for the KM, KX or the well-reguarded MX.

Many people's favourite camera is the ME Super. It gives you Aperture Priority and Manual Exposure in a small, elegant body.