Need a little help with a Pentax 3/21 Meter

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Equipment' started by dschneller, Oct 1, 2005.

1. dschneller

dschneller Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm hoping someone out there has a manual for this meter or better yet someone has experience with this model. It's a Honeywell Pentax 3/21 Exposure Meter. I have sourced the hard to find batteries and low and behold it works!

Am I reading the meter correctly:

If I partially depress the read button on a bright scene I read the EV from the high scale. For a low light scene I need to depress the read button fully and I take the EV value from the low scale.

Thanks,
    Dave

Attached Files:

2. James Geerdes

James Geerdes Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Pentax 3/21 battery crazy

I am new to APUG....
    I noticed your Question about the 3/21.
    I have one of these meters. The meter only works if button switch is fully depressed. The 22.5 volt drycell I have is new. The original 1.3v mercury are not available as you know. Please advise me about the smaller batteries or battery.
    I have gotten too many suggestions like 1 battery or 2 batteries. Alot of 1.5v batteries out there and seem the right size. I have tried and no meter response Stumped.
    This would be a big help. The conflicting info is not helping. I love this meter's look feel and potentials. I am excited to use it. I do have a need for this spot feature.
    Thanks Jim

3. bowzart

bowzart Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've got one of these, too. Mine is the special model that is only available in thrift stores. Salvation Army, Mount Vernon Washington, USA.

It holds a special place of reverence for me. It was what was the state of the art in 1964.

I just pried it open and found two batteries, the 22.5 v Mallory M-215, and the Mallory PX-23. The PX-23 is (or was) a 5.6 volt battery, not a 1.3 v.