Need to learn more - have I come to the right place? ;-)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by portrait_giver, Aug 5, 2011.

1. portrait_giver

portrait_giver Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi folks, just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Jennifer, hailing from Adelaide (South Australia). I'm a professional digital photographer, but when it comes to film, I get nervous. If I may be honest. I've come here with the hope to learn more about film, and to get inspired all-round.

If you could only have one tip for someone that is about to make some serious mess with film, what would it be? ;-)

Nice to meet you all. Cheers.

2. segedi

segedi Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Just give it a shot! Or 36 :smile:
    I have a lot I'd fun trying different things out - you'll learn a lot here. Welcome aboard.

3. nhemann

nhemann Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Just remember that the rabbit hole is pretty deep, and getting lost is most of the fun....

4. eddie

eddie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    My advice would be:
    Buy an all manual decent 35mm SLR.
    Learn how to use the meter. (when I taught, my students spent a week just metering, before they loaded film- some of them regretted signing up for the course- until later... :wink:).
    Take notes on every single exposure you make. Record the f stop/shutter speed/filter/ etc. (anything influencing your exposure choices).
    Bracket your shots. ( I had my students do bracketing the same way, everytime. -2, -1, N, +1, +2).
    Carefully compare your notes to the images. You will learn a lot from this routine.

5. SkipA

SkipA Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Do you already have a camera? Will you be doing your own processing? Are you interested primarily in B&W or Color (neg or slide) or both?

To get over your nervousness, pick one camera and one film and use it as much as you can.

6. zsas

zsas Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF