Needing to enlarge up to 24x24

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by healingvirtue, Feb 15, 2013.

1. healingvirtue

healingvirtue Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I'm totally new to darkroom printing, and would like to print at about 24x24. Can anyone tell me what kind of enlarger and other equipment I would need please?? Thank you!

2. David Brown

David Brown Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, an 8x10 enlarger and a room to put it in (based on your profile) ...

However, you have really not given us enough information. What format? 8x10? Types of film and paper do you wish to use? Where are you? (makes a difference)

Even so, this is not really something that can be answered adequately in a a forum response (In my opinion) Start by reading some of the basics:

Darkroom design for beginners
    http://www.kodak.com/global/en/profe...bs/ak3/ak3.pdf

Making Your First Black and White Print
    http://www.ilfordphoto.com/Webfiles/...1321242292.pdf

Ask some more specific questions and we'll try to help. :smile:

3. healingvirtue

healingvirtue Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Hi, thank you. I'm from central FL and wanting to make prints from 120mm 6x6 format.

4. ParkerSmithPhoto

ParkerSmithPhoto Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Most of the large format enlargers will do 24x24 on the baseboard, and most of the medium format enlargers have reversable heads that allow you to place weights on the baseboard and then project to a lower table or the floor.

24" prints are a real challenge for someone with considerable experience in the darkroom. For someone brand new to the dark arts, it may be overwhelming. Just getting trays that large will be expensive, not to mention paper. You'll quickly learn just how much paper goes straight from the fixer and into the trash!