negatives coming out totally transparent

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Peter Cullen, Apr 14, 2012.

1. Peter Cullen

Peter Cullen Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi! I'm new to this. I just started developing 35mm film two weeks ago - using ID-11, water stop, and Ilford Rapid Fixer. The first litre of ID-11 produced decent photos (for a first round!). Then I used Ornano St-18 developer and Ornano F 205 fixer, with a water bath. Still decent results. This week, my next order of ID-11 came in, but now twice it has produced totally blank negatives.
    the second time it happened, I tested the ID-11 and it turns the leader of the film black - so I assume that's good.

The first roll was a PanF 50 following Ilfords package recommendations for development and fixing time.
    The second roll was an HP5 400 following package recommendations for development and fixing.

Reading the forums, the result looks as if the film had been fixed before developing. It is transparent with no edge numbers whatsoever. There is no evidence of any image and the film itself is greyish blue transparent - see through. It is impossible, however, that I dumped the fixer in first. I don't even uncap that until I'm doing the stop bath.
    Both times, however, I used the developer within 10 minutes of having mixed it up. Is it possible that the ID-11 hadn't properly "mixed" or "bound" or something before I used it? Should I have let it sit for an hour or so first?

Anyway - any advice on this would sure be appreciated! Thanks in advance!
    Pete Cullen

2. cliveh

cliveh Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    If you have no edge numbers you must have put fix in before developer.

3. dnjl

dnjl Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    No edge markings means you fixed instead of developed first, no matter how you look at it. Maybe you mixed up the bottles? Mistakes like that happen to everyone once in a blue moon.

4. pentaxuser

pentaxuser Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm