NEU TO THE DARKROOM

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by amundenovskiy, Dec 22, 2011.

1. amundenovskiy

amundenovskiy Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello. My name is Andrew. I am new to this forum (a friend from Medium format forum told me to check APUG out... poof here I am) I am looking for some people to help and guide me through the process of learning the "darkroom world". I have been doing digital photography for several years (Probably not using actual terms or what not, I use Appels Aperture and iPhoto programs to edit and make my pictures good looking to my standards (which are of course amateur). I am from Montreal Québec Canada and it doesn't matter where y'all are from we could email back and forth - :D

I might have stupid questions sometimes so Im looking for time-taken answers because this is how I learn to do stuff... I'd take a course in it, but I have some person issues to deal with to do with Gradation before university and collage, because montreal has several schools with great photography programs :D

1) I currently have NO equipment for darkroom, and What kind of room would work? It needs to be vented... ?

Anyway If ANYONE wants to help me in the future with questions and tips, and help :D
    let me know :D

2. M.A.Longmore

M.A.Longmore Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome Home Andrew !

Ron

3. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome to APUG Andrew.

There are a few here on APUg who are from the Montreal area.

Myself, I'm at the other end of the country - the south-west corner of BC.

I'd recommend starting out with a good book and a couple of good internet resources.

An example book: Horenstein: "Black & White Photography - A basic manual

From Ilford's web materials: http://www.ilfordphoto.com/applications/page.asp?n=9

From Kodak's web materials: http://wwwtr.kodak.com/global/en/professional/support/techPubs/aj3/aj3.pdf