New at colour developing, please help!

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by celtic_man81, Jun 22, 2006.

1. celtic_man81

celtic_man81 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    To anyone who can help;

I've finally got colour paper, the only thing is that I am new at this. I've found a decent guide, but I've noticed in several guides it says you need to do colour paper processing in complete darkness. Is this totally necessary, or can I get away with the red light on? I have also noticed that several guides have mentioned using a roto drum? Can I get away with using the usual four bath solution (like with B&W)? I am using RA4. Thanks to anyone who responds.

2. Claire Senft

Claire Senft Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    You must process in the dark. You can process in trays.

3. Chan Tran

Chan Tran Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    It has to be done in total darkness. No red light. You can use the tray if you're comfortable to do that in total darkness. I always use drum as I don't feel comfortable handling the chemicals in darkness.

4. dphphoto

dphphoto Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    RA4 is developer and bleach-fix. Temp control is crucial, as is replenishment. Also, be very careful handling paper in total darkness. The paper is easy to fingerprint. Dean
    p.s. It used to be worse. Ektaprint C was six chemicals: first dev, color dev, bleach, fix, hardener and stabilizer. DH

5. celtic_man81

celtic_man81 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thanks everyone

6. pentaxuser

pentaxuser Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    The issue of the need for total darkness continually arises in RA4 processing threads. There are some safelights you can use such as DUKA 10 or 50. Basically these are sodium lights which work on a wavelength which doesn't affect RA4 paper. They are expensive, especially the bulbs, and unless you use them on a low setting they may affect any colour analyser in terms of exposure and correct colour.