New Leica M6

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by osprey48, Jan 7, 2012.

1. osprey48

osprey48 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've just become the proud owner of a Leica M6 Classic, having won a bid on Ebay for £690. Its a wonderful piece of kit, and feels good just to hold it, compared to my Minolta SLR I've been using for 25 years!I think thats quite a bargain, including presentation box and original packing box. What do you think? I can't see any less than £700 on the second hand sites I've looked at. I never thought I'd ever be able to own one, or even hold one, so now I can't wait to try it out. But first I need a lens, and I'm thinking about getting a Voigtlander Colour Skopar 35mm, as dedicated Leica lenses are way too expensive for me. Has anybody used Voigtlander lenses with their Leicas? Whats your verdict?
    I've rather neglected 35mm over the last few years and concentrated mainly on medium format with my Mamiya 7II, but I think the Leica will start me up again.

2. mdarnton

mdarnton Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I have owned the 35/1.7, the 28/1.9, the 25, and 15. All were great lenses. The 28 in particular was one of the best lenses I've ever had, in terms of definite personality. The 35 lacked nothing at all, and surely beat the pants off the old 35/1.5 Canon, and RF Summilux I had previously owned (which were also a couple of decades older), as well as my current 35/2 Nikkor (which is more modern). The 25 was forgettable, and the first one I got rid of.

My impression from those was that their slow lenses are fine enough, but the fast ones are better in terms of having an indefinable something, and probably the lens you mention would not be my first choice. The 35/1.4 looks awfully pretty in the pictures, and quite compact. You already spend a bunch of money--is now the moment to go cheap? :smile:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2012
  3. segedi

segedi Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format