new lense for my pentax

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by Pat1547, Apr 13, 2005.

1. Pat1547

Pat1547 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm kind of new to photography but I would like to get a new lens to accompany my standard 50 mm that came with my pentax zx-m. I'm a student which means I am on a limited budget. Any suggestions? Thanks for the help.

2. Jeremy

Jeremy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Do you want to go with a wider field of view (shorter lens) or narrower (longer lens)?

3. Pat1547

Pat1547 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thats the thing I'm not sure, I'm dabbling in a bit of all kinds of photography right now, but I'm starting to lean more towards landscape and nature now.

4. titrisol

titrisol Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, in that case I'd reccomend you "borrow" some lenses and give them a try first.

5. Jeremy

Jeremy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    For a long time I got locked into buying lenses in case I found something to shoot with them. Now I just buy when I find I am continually having to sacrifice my visualized composition because I lack the right lens, i.e. I kept having to crop out significant parts of shots because my 180mm lens was too long so I am selling it to go with a 150mm lens (it's also a lot lighter which helps). If you find that you are skipping on shooting things because you can't get them large enough then get a telephoto (or a macro lens if they are small objects) and if you find that you are having trouble getting everything into the frame you want to then pick up a wider angle. If you aren't having trouble with this, then spend the money on more film, shoot more photos, and enjoy that 50mm!

6. Paul Howell

Paul Howell Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format