New Petzval Lens for Nikon F and Canon EF

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by rwreich, Jul 25, 2013.

1. rwreich

rwreich Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  2. benjiboy

benjiboy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm a portrait photographer, and I want one badly.

3. Two23

Two23 Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Last year I bought a vintage 1870s Darlot Petzval, a very tiny ~90mm one. I had SK Grimes make a Nikon F-mount for it. It's pretty cool! I shoot it on my D7100.

Kent in SD

4. Barry S

Barry S Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    No big lomography fan, but that looks pretty cool. I love the fact they're using a brass barrel, although the block around the focus drive is kind of chunky. The kickstarter price is very reasonable--this is tempting.

5. rwreich

rwreich Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The $300 price is gone, but the $350 level may still be available...

6. E. von Hoegh

E. von Hoegh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm no fan of the lomography aura, their marketing, etc. But this looks like a nice product at a realistic price! It's even a good focal length for 35, showing the character of a Petzval without the exaggerated and nauseating swirlies (spewies?:laugh:) that many get by using too short a lens for their format.
    As much as I dislike admitting it, I like the thing!:smile:

(But I'm not getting rid of my 105 Nikkor)

7. darkosaric

darkosaric Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    This is great news. I am looking to buy Petzval for some time...actually I was ready to buy Rollei SL66 to use it just with Petzval.

8. Mainecoonmaniac

Mainecoonmaniac Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  9. mweintraub

mweintraub Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    If it fills full frame "sensors", then it'll be fine for 35mm Nikon and Canon bodies.

10. jnanian

jnanian Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    looks like fun !

lensbaby makes similar things they have a recreation of