NEW TO 4/5 FORMAT

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by STEVEP51, Jan 16, 2013.

1. STEVEP51

STEVEP51 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    HI GUYS ive just got a4/5 wista camera im new to 4/5format can any one tell me how to use it.it has a150mm lens .the camera is wood and brass and folds iuse i use a mamiya rz67 at moment i may of jumped in at the deep end but i just want to learn i no about the front and rear standards i just want to no what to do after setting the standards.menythanks

2. Pfiltz

Pfiltz Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Steve, I'm new to 4x5 and camera movements. I started out by watching some YouTube vids on large format cameras and photography. I then loaded up some film, and started to take images. I basically looked through the ground glass and adjusted the movements, until I liked what I saw through the glass. Then took the shot.

Hope this helps somewhat.

3. BrianShaw

BrianShaw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  4. STEVEP51

STEVEP51 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    THANK YOU pfilz your words of wisdom have helped me,so getting every thing in focus on back glass is key objectiv sounds easy???

5. Bruce Osgood

Bruce Osgood Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The Large Format Photography site that Brian mentions has everything you need to know to get started. You really can't pick what you want to know and think you're getting off on the right foot. Every aspect is contingent upon others. It's all interwoven and will make sense when practiced.

6. STEVEP51

STEVEP51 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    thanks brian for web site ,printed every thing off thanks again stevep51

7. STEVEP51

STEVEP51 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    bruce love the sharpness off the photos,thanks for info stevep ps keep up the lovely photos

8. thegman

thegman Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I just saw the wood/brass Wista in a shop in London, absolutely beautiful camera.