New to Lith - Very confused.

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by cdhauber, Sep 12, 2007.

1. cdhauber

cdhauber Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I am wanting to experiment with lith printing and do not just want my photographs to look JUST toned (ie: sepia/selenium) I am interested in the multi color as well as the texture etc with the rich blacks.

I have Tim Rudman's books and each time I come up with a combination of paper/chemicals that seems like his recommendation, I can not find one or the other. So, I am having a hard time finding what combination of paper and chemicals will have the results I want. I am also finding that much of what I look for in America does not exist. (moersch seems pretty cool but can't find it)

Thus, any help with that combination would be great. There are many choices of paper available, but the chemistry is less available.

Also, if I am just beginning, what size paper would be best to start with?

Thanks in advance.

2. Fotohuis

Fotohuis Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  3. Jim Noel

Jim Noel Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    First locate one of the papers he recommends and go from there. Finding both paper and chemicals simultaneously is difficult.
    After you have the paper in hand, check suppliers such as Artcraft, Bostick & Sullivan, Photographers Formulary and other chemical suppliers for the chemistry. I believe if you contact Dr. Rudman with questions he will respond. Since he does workshops each year through Photographers Formulary, they could be the most likely supplier.

4. rwyoung

rwyoung Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Freestylephoto.biz carries Kentmere, Foma and Ilford papers as well as a few different brands of Lith chemistry.

5. Travis Nunn

Travis Nunn Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Freestyle carries Maco Superlith and Fotospeed LD20 and a huge amount of papers that lith well.

B+H carries the Fotospeed LD20 and plenty of papers that lith well.