New to photography and need help with printing!

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by R Smith, Oct 20, 2008.

1. R Smith

R Smith Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I was trying to make a print and i think my negative is not printable. This is my 2nd time trying to print a negative with no luck. The print comes out so grainy its awful! It goes from extremely grainy to complete black. I have no previous experience and was wondering if someone can give me advice on how to print. I really think the negative is no good for printing because it to dark. Below is a scan of the negative.

Attached Files:

2. sdivot

sdivot Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    It's very difficult to say what's going on with such limited info. The scan looks ok, but did you have to do any extreme levels or curves adjustments to get it to look this way?
    If the negative is really dark (overexposed), you may very well get a grainy print.
    If the print is totally black, it could be the paper was exposed to room light. Is your darkroom light tight? Are you safelights too bright? Is your fix exhausted?
    With all due respect, if this is your first time printing on your own, you may be doing several things wrong. Basic printing is not hard, but there are a few things you must/must not do.
    I highly recommend Tim Rudman's book on printing. It's called The Photographer's Master Printing Course. There are, of course many books on printing, but this is an excellent one.
    Good luck,
    Steve

3. jeroldharter

jeroldharter Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Don't despair. That is not bad for a first effort.

Don't forget composition, rule of thirds, etc. The cross on top is cut off...

It helps when you list specific details of your process. At a minimum:
    • film format, film type, developer
    • Paper (VC or graded)