News from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Discussion in 'Product Availability' started by Edimilson, Mar 21, 2007.

1. Edimilson

Edimilson Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello everyone!

My name is Edimilson (please call me Ed, for the sake of simplification). I’m a 34 year-old Brazilian male. I have recently acquired a Meopta Magnifax 4 and have just begun to make my own prints. I thought it might interest you to know about the availability of black and white photography materials in my city. Since Portuguese is my native language, please pardon me for any mistakes, particularly regarding technical terms.
    Now to the availability of black and white photographic materials:
    I have been doing black and white since 2005. It was never a problem to find black and white film. Of course it’s necessary to know where to go, since only specialized stores (about half a dozen) offer such materials. As to 35 mm film, it’s easy to find Kodak Tri-X, both in the original cassettes and bulk film already loaded into used cassettes. One also finds Fuji Neopan and Ilford HP5 and sometimes HP4. As to 120 film, it’s also easy to get Tri-X at the stores mentioned. One also finds Ilford HP5, but that’s less common.
    Regarding chemicals, it’s easier to buy them than I expected. It seems that Kodak products are the most abundant. Surprisingly, though, I found Foma chemicals at a particular store. Only film and paper developers and fixers though. Nothing special like the Foma sepia toner was available.
    Finally, Ilford paper is available in different types and sizes, but I was astonished to see other brands being offered. Just two days ago I saw Ilford, Foma, Oriental and one package of what seemed to be Agfa paper (!?). It was a red package. I’ll look into it next time I drop by that store.
    Well, that’s what I had to report. Hope it sounds like good news.