Nikon f1.2 lens with the FT3 or photomic FTN

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by pollux, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. pollux

    pollux Member

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Can the 50 f1.2 ais lens be used with these cameras? How would you meter with a lens this fast? Would I be better off with an f2as? I just love the feel and sound of the ft3 and photomic though.
     
  2. Aja B

    Aja B Member

    Messages:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Shooter:
    35mm
    The 50/1.2 AIS will mount and meter perfectly with both of those bodies. The lens must have the metering prong to link with the FTN prism. I'm unsure of what you're asking re: how to meter. Meter as you would with any other lens would be my initial response. Would you be better off w/ an F2AS? I can't see how that would be the case but don't let that stop you from acquiring a short-listed classic! May also have to get an F2SB just to be thorough. Kidding aside, my FTn sees a fraction of the use seen by my AS and SB. Enjoy the classics!
     
  3. Pumalite

    Pumalite Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,078
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Here & Now
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The lens is mounted with the prongs in 5.6. Once mounted you need to take it to 1.2 and next; to the minimum aperture.
     
  4. LunoLuno

    LunoLuno Member

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    Kanagawa JAP
    Shooter:
    35mm
    The 50/1.2 can be used with either of them as long as it has the prongs.
    Regargind the metering accuracy, that may be a different story, though.
     
  5. Bob-D659

    Bob-D659 Member

    Messages:
    1,300
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Ca
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It meters the same way and with similar accuracy as any other lens would on any specific camera.
    Now if you can handhold it steady enough to keep the subject in focus at 4 feet at f1.2, is another story. :smile:
     
  6. John_Nikon_F

    John_Nikon_F Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Duvall, WA,
    Shooter:
    35mm
    On the Nikon F, mount it like any non-AI Nikkor. Set aperture to 5.6, mount it, then go to 16, and back to 1.2. On the FT3, just mount it.

    -J
     
  7. pollux

    pollux Member

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I thought the photomic ftn had a limitation on the meter head, which will only read lenses at f1.4 or slower.
     
  8. Bob-D659

    Bob-D659 Member

    Messages:
    1,300
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Ca
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
  9. E. von Hoegh

    E. von Hoegh Member

    Messages:
    3,925
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
  10. CGW

    CGW Member

    Messages:
    2,797
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    The FTn metered finder reads f1.2--says so right on the front of the bloody finder!
     
  11. E. von Hoegh

    E. von Hoegh Member

    Messages:
    3,925
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I wanted to say that, but the finder isn't in front of me, and I haven't had a faster lens than f:2 since about 1997.:smile::wink:
     
  12. pollux

    pollux Member

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    yes my bad. i went with another ft3 though, the first example on ebay had water damage and was returned. looking forward to it alot, the feel is superior to my dad's om2n and om10.