Nikon F2 question on metering?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by 2bits, May 21, 2012.

1. 2bits

2bits Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi,
    Question is: When I'm indoors the light meter will respond to 2 varying light sources by fluctuating up and down accordingly, depending on aperture and speed etc. But as soon as I step out into bright sunlight the meter pegs over to overexposed, regardless of aperture and speed. I'm new to this F2, my old Pentax meters great outdoors.
    It's most likely operator confusion!
    Thanks much 2bits

2. Nick Merritt

Nick Merritt Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not likely operator confusion, if you're varying aperture and speed settings. The camera's meter should be able to handle that range in EV without problems. More likely the meter needs attention, I'm afraid. Are interior shots properly exposed?

3. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What film speed have you set on the camera?

4. 2bits

2bits Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've gone the whole range. Here's the bizarre part, I just changed out the 50mm lens for a 80-200mm Soligor made for Nikon and the system meters properly outdoors! I'm definitely doing something wrong?

5. rthomas

rthomas Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    What specific model of viewfinder do you have on your F2?

6. 2bits

2bits Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The 50mm 1:2 is a standard nikon lens. I wonder if I'm improperly mounting the lens?

7. EASmithV

EASmithV Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Are you turning the lens to the largest aperture after mounting to index it?

8. 2bits

2bits Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    RThomas,
    The view finder is the one that originally came with the camera, split screen I think> It's the Photomic with type A focusing screen.
    Believe me I don't know beans about this camera. I just loaded my 1st roll of film in it.