Nikon F3: is this quite normal?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by sandermarijn, Mar 13, 2012.

1. sandermarijn

sandermarijn Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    The second curtain of an F3 that I just received (no films shot yet, not by me at least) shows a small depression. Is this something to worry about? Or quite normal for an F3? I have no experience with these cameras at all. Thanks, Sander

f3_shutter_curtain.jpg

2. dehk

dehk Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It's not normal but it should still work normally.

3. brucemuir

brucemuir Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I wouldn't worry about that at all unless it is obviously interfering with shutter operation.
    I've had a few Nikon F's that had a slightly more severe dent/crinkle with no ill effects.

Make sure you keep your thumbs away from the film gate anytime you have the back open to prevent this type of damage in the future.

4. Bob-D659

Bob-D659 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thumb print. :sad: Should be ok tho. My original F that I bought 45 years ago and well used at the time, had two sharper creases in the curtain, well, 45 years later, it is still working just fine, complete with the creases.

5. xtolsniffer

xtolsniffer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Mine looks a bit like that too, been working fine for the past ten years.

6. OddE

OddE Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi,

I'll just add to what others have said - your new F3 appears to be just fine; it appears that someone has accidentally put their thumb against the shutter when inserting or removing film, though without actually doing any damage to the (Tougher than one would think!) shutter curtain.

Mine, too has got a mark like that - put there as I was loading the 2nd roll of film (as shot by me, that is) into it. Still works a charm, some 19 years and 650+ rolls later.

7. sandermarijn

sandermarijn Member

Shooter:
    35mm